Remote control with an iPhone

I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an iPhone. I’ve got minimal control working now. Once I perfect it, I will share more details, but for now this will whet your appetite. In the videos I demonstrate controlling a servo and the dome motor using an iPhone using the accelerometer (tilting the iPhone controls it) and using a slider control on the touch screen. Other touch screen controls are possible too such as rotary controls, buttons, XY controls, and multitouch as well as gestures. I should be able to interface with my J.E.D.I display as well and type in text messages in the iPhone that will scroll across the front or rear logic displays.

(Cue evil mad scientist laughter ) Muh ha ha ha ha!!

Tags:

32 Responses to “Remote control with an iPhone”

  1. iPhone Controlled R2D2 Robot - Hacked Gadgets - DIY Tech Blog Says:

    [...] of a standard remote but that is just a temporary control method. Have a look here for some of the iPhone interface information. We will have to keep our eye on the progress and report back when it is near [...]

  2. Controlling a R2-D2 Robot with an iPhone | Aleptu Says:

    [...] robot is still progress though it can be fully controlled with a standard remote as of now. But, the creator is working on making it 100% controllable using the iPhone’s interface. For now, only the [...]

  3. The Official Star Wars Blog » iPhone-controlled R2-D2 Says:

    [...] WATCH VIDEOS: Remote control R2-D2 with an iPhone [...]

  4. Botropolis | iPhone Controlled R2-D2 Says:

    [...] [Glenn's Astromech Blog] [...]

  5. Apple Bloog » Blog Archive » iPhone-controlled R2D2 Says:

    [...] impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an [...]

  6. iPhone-controlled R2D2 Says:

    [...] under: Hardware, Software, Hacks, iPhone It’s impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an iPhone.”The video above shows the author, ggpipe, [...]

  7. iPhone-controlled R2D2 | touchmyiphone.com Says:

    [...] under: Hardware, Software, Hacks, iPhone It’s impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an iPhone.”The video above shows the author, ggpipe, [...]

  8. iPhone-controlled R2D2 | iPhone Central Station Says:

    [...] under: Hardware, Software, Hacks, iPhone It’s impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an iPhone.”The video above shows the author, ggpipe, [...]

  9. iPhone-controlled R2D2 | News on web tools, technology and other cool apps Says:

    [...] under: Hardware, Software, Hacks, iPhone It’s impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an iPhone.”The video above shows the author, ggpipe, [...]

  10. iPhone-controlled R2D2 – Apple Investor Says:

    [...] under: Hardware, Software, Hacks, iPhone It’s impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an iPhone.”The video above shows the author, ggpipe, [...]

  11. iPhone-controlled R2D2 « Macatron - Unleash Your Mac Says:

    [...] under: Hardware, Software, Hacks, iPhone It’s impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an iPhone.”The video above shows the author, ggpipe, [...]

  12. iWyre Says:

    [...] impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an [...]

  13. iPhone-controlled R2D2 : My Mash Web Says:

    [...] impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an [...]

  14. iPhone-controlled R2D2 | iPhone and iPod Area Says:

    [...] under: Hardware, Software, Hacks, iPhone It’s impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an iPhone.”The video above shows the author, ggpipe, [...]

  15. iPhone-controlled R2D2 Says:

    [...] impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an [...]

  16. Page 2 | /Film Says:

    [...] Glenn has found a way to control his life-size R2D2 with his iPhone. [...]

  17. שליטה ב- R2D2 באמצעות האייפון | iPhoneil Says:

    [...] המפתח כרגע בשבלבי פיתוח ושיפורו, ובנתיים הוא רק יכול לסובב את הכיפה שלו ימינה ושמאלה באמצעות חיישן התנועה של המכשיר או באמצעות מסך המגע. המטרה שלו להגיע לשליטה מלאה ברובוט ואפשרות אפילו לשלוח לו טקסטים שיציג אותם על המסך שלו. כדי להשאר מעודכנים תוכלו לבקר בבלוג האישי שלו פה [...]

  18. The Tech Town » iPhone-controlled R2D2 Says:

    [...] impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an [...]

  19. Bonnie Prince Charlie Says:

    FYI, that would be “whet your appetite”: to excite or stimulate. To wet one’s appetite sounds vaguely, I don’t know, obscene. . . .

  20. » Blog Archive » Un piccolo R2D2 comandato da iPhone Says:

    [...] blogger appassionato di “astromeccanica” ha costruito una fedele riproduzione di R2D2, il droide tutto [...]

  21. Michele Maffucci » Controllo remoto di un roboto con iPhone Says:

    [...] allego due interessantissimi video in cui viene mostrato come un appassionato di robotica ha realizzato una fedele riproduzione del robot di Guerre Stellari R2D2 dotato di una interfaccia [...]

  22. iPhone-controlled R2D2 | iPhone 3G Tricks Says:

    [...] impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an [...]

  23. iPhone-controlled R2D2 | iPhone, The Blog Says:

    [...] impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an [...]

  24. iPhone-controlled R2D2 - MostOfMyMac.com Says:

    [...] impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an [...]

  25. iPhone-controlled R2D2 | cgenterprises.net Says:

    [...] impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an [...]

  26. iPhone-controlled R2D2 | I Love iPhone Says:

    [...] impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an [...]

  27. iPhone-controlled R2D2 | iphone-zone.co.cc Says:

    [...] impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an [...]

  28. Video | dailytechnews.info Says:

    [...] impossible not to love a blog post that begins, “I found a way to remote control my R2D2 with an [...]

  29. Controlling a R2-D2 Robot with an iPhone | version-X Org. Says:

    [...] robot is still progress though it can be fully controlled with a standard remote as of now. But, the creator is working on making it 100% controllable using the iPhone’s interface. For now, only the [...]

  30. iPhone-controlled R2D2 | iPhone Topic|TechBeta Says:

    [...] unfit not to adore a blog post which begins, “I found the approach to remote carry out my R2D2 with an [...]

  31. Controlling a R2-D2 Robot with an iPhone | Version X of Gadgets, UNIX, LINUX & Opensource Articles Says:

    [...] robot is still progress though it can be fully controlled with a standard remote as of now. But, the creator is working on making it 100% controllable using the iPhone’s interface. For now, only the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

